H808: Creating multimedia instruction

This post is a response to Activity 4.1: Multimedia as evidence and creating digital evidence for an eportfolio

Multimedia_icons

Image: digitalart / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

We’ve been asked to think about relating media to different aspects of user engagement and how using different media relates to how people learn. I naturally veer towards creating text-based materials and prefer to use words, mindmaps, and flow diagrams to explain and instruct so creating multimedia content is a bit of a departure for me. However I wanted to try and create a screencast to demonstrate how I use a particular application and today I spent sometime getting to grips with Camtasia Studio for Mac and I created a screencast of how I use Evernote as a digital repository.

I found this activity quite difficult and time consuming because I was learning how to use a new piece of software (Camtasia) and how to produce an effective screencast. Trying to learn and do two distinct things was a bit of a strain, and I abandoned the trial and error approach as well as my initial time allocation for this activity. I managed to record myself but I could not work out how to edit the screencast. At the same time, I was conscious that I was speaking too slowly, stumbling over words and should have written a script. So first I decided to learn how to use Camtasia, and I found some useful videos about how to edit recordings. I watched all six of the getting started guide after which I was a lot more confident. Next, I wrote out a script and used it to guide my recording. I also set up some mock pages in Evernote, had some tabs already open on the web and decided to stick to a time limit which meant I only highlighted the essential components of Evernote. The result? Well it is OK and it’s here.

 

I didn’t have time to rework it too much. I still can’t figure out how to speed up my voice in Camtasia. On the plus side, my voice sounds less like Minnie Mouse than I had imagined.

If I compare it to writing out instructions in how to use Evernote or presenting static screenshots with instructions, I think a screencast like this can be really effective as it moves beyond verbal communications to non-verbal and auditory components. The act of creating this also made me think about how I do use this tool and whether I can improve my own use.

This activity reminded me that as an instructor and course designer, asking students to use unfamiliar software as well as complete a challenging task is a bit of an ask and that time constraints can be an important factor in student motivation and outcomes. However, there’s also a certain sense of satisfaction in producing something tangible, so I valued the process of self-discovery this activity enabled.

 

3 thoughts on “H808: Creating multimedia instruction

  1. Hi SukainaI enjoyed your tutorial. I thought you spoke at the right pace. The mistake people often make which I am sure you know is to go too fast. I do agree with your last paragraph about challenging tasks.Well doneAlan

  2. Hi Sukaina,I’m really impressed that you’ve taken the time to learn a new technology and use it for something H808 related. I’ve haven’t made a screencast or used Evernote so I found it really interesting.Are you using Evernote as your ePortfolio? Looks really useful.Well done on a great first effort – totally know what an exhausting experience it can be learning something new, you should be really pleased with your final product.ThanksMel

  3. Hi MelThanks for stopping by and for your supportive comments. I am using Evernote as the repository for my ePortfolio but I am still working out how to present/display the eportfolio atrifacts. I am finding I am using Evernote more and more for general productivity, bookmarking, storage etc. Kind regardsSukaina

Leave a Reply

